Fun stuff

So, my dear cousins friend gave me a wonderful mannequen from his closing down store . A lovely headless 5’10 beauty for me to display my creations on for photograhy purposes, when I dont feel like modeling them or dont have the time. She’s a little dinged up, but she’s wonderful. Here’s a bad photo of her, I’m gonna have to hive her a name too, but I’m not sure what yet. Something will come to me.

Also today my serger had to be taken to the repair shop, because the silly thing just didn’t want to work. The needle hits one of the fingers and something else in there and tangles the thread an makes an awful sound. The fact that it is going to take a week to fix puts me back even further. I can’t work for the week that its out, and that makes me severely distraught because I feel like I’m wasting precious time before I can get my etsy shop going. So to combat my frustration, I took up a leisurely sewing project just for me that I can do at my own pace with no stress, and no keeping a time chart like with all my other things. I’m working on a gothy little dress made from one of the Akrivestry patterns for Simplicity (http://www.simplicity.com/showproduct.aspx?ProductID=1702&SEName=costumes), but with a few alterations. Instead of lacing, i’m putting in a nice heavy separating metal zipper, and I lengthened the bodice to accommodate it. I will also be leaving out the contrast panel on the front. Its being made out of a nice cotton twill I bought in LA a while ago. And no, I’m not ashamed to admit that I still sew from commercial patterns from time to time, for my own personal use. Sometimes I just don’t feel like tweaking with pattern drafting and want something done up quick. No stress. Of course I’ll post pictures later, but for now, I’m off to go take it up again, and have a nice cup of tea.

~ by xxbereftxx on June 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Fun stuff”

  1. I can’t wait for all the pics ^-^

Leave a Reply

 
